Pitt HomeFind PeopleContact Us
School of Engineering

CRE Group   Prof. Götz Veser


brief vita

  • Associate Director, University of Pittsburgh Center for Energy (since 2015)
  • Nickolas A. DeCecco Professor, Swanson School of Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, USA (since 2011).
  • Chemical Engineering Department, University of Pittsburgh, USA (Assist. Prof., 2002-07, Assoc. Prof., 2007-11, Professor, since 2011) 
  • Group leader, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany (2000-2002).
  • Habilitant, Institut für Chemische Verfahrenstechnik (Prof. G. Eigenberger), University of Stuttgart, Germany (1996-1999).
  • Postdoc, Dept. of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science (Prof. L.D. Schmidt), University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN (1994-1996).
  • Ph.D. (summa cum laude), Fritz-Haber-Institute of the Max-Planck-Society, Dept. of Physical Chemistry (Prof. G. Ertl), Berlin, Germany (1993).
  • Dipl.-Ing. (with distinction), Dept. of Chemical Engineering, University of Karlsruhe, Germany (1990).


honors & awards

  • Oustanding Educator Award, Swanson Shool of Engineering, 2015
  • James Pommersheim Award for Excellence in Teaching in Chemical Engineering, 2014
  • 'Who is Who in Energy',  Pitsburgh Business Times, 2014
  • Best Mentor award, EXCEL-SRI program, 2013.
  • Invited Keynote, Natural Gas Conversion Symposium (NGCS 10), Doha (Qatar), 03/2013.
  • Nickolas DeCecco Professorship, School of Engineering, University of Pittsburgh (since 2011)
  • CNG Faculty Fellowship, Schhol of Engineering, University of Pittsburgh (2007-2011).
  • U.S. Department of Energy - NETL Faculty Fellow  (2007-2012)
  • Invited Plenary, 6th World Congress on Oxidation Catalysis, Lille, France, 06/2010.
  • Visiting Professor, Dalian University of Technology, School of Chemical Engineering, 05/2009
  • Richard A. Glenn Award, Division of Fuel Chemistry, American Chemical Society, 2007.
  • NSF-CAREER award (2005).
  • Pittsburgh-Cleveland Catalysis Society, President-Elect (2004-2005), President (2005-2006), Director (since 2007).
  • Habilitations-Fellowship, German Science Foundation (DFG), (1996-1999).
  • Feodor-Lynen-Fellowship, Alexander-von-Humbold Foundation, (1994-1996).
  • Kekule Fellowship, Fund of the German Chemical Industry, (1990-1993).
  • Emil-Kirschbaum Award, University of Karlsruhe, (1990).

Use Navigation Panel at Left.

Questions, Suggestions, Comments? Send e-mail to:









You are using a browser that does not support current Web standards. Although this site is viewable in all browsers, it will look much better in a browser that supports web standards.